In my never-ending efforts to show you that an old goat doesn’t have to look like an old goat – I bring you my FOTD. Zeph was sitting with me as I put my face on (as my mother used to say) and so you’ll see his paws in the photos. Too cute!

I am digging deep into my makeup collection. A New Year’s Resolution of mine is to exist on my current makeup collection and try not to buy any new makeup. I kind of busted this recently but…I did buy Greek (another NY resolution). I dug so deep for this FOTD that I found an antique. An Estee Lauder blush that is (ahem) at least seven years old. It’s a Just Blush and this range was first introduced in 1991. I sure hope it’s not THAT old but it has sentimental value. I bought it but somehow it ended up with my mother. Not sure why. She used it but not that often because it was too peachy and she preferred pink blushes. After she died in 2007 (at the age of 91 years I might add), I found it amongst her makeup. So I wear it from time to time and it reminds me of my mother.

Here’s what else I used for the FOTD.

EYES

  • SAX Love At First Sight #16 eyeshadow palette. SAX is an Australian brand and I remember they had a fantastic chubby stick lipstick I used about 15 years ago. I really like the neutral colours in this palette – silky and long lasting (especially with Mac Paint Pot in Painterly as a primer). There are five colours in the palette with three of them being bronze browns. The colour at the top of the palette is a soft deepish mauve, which complements the bronze browns. The highlighter at the bottom of the palette is a little too whitish for my liking. The eyeshadows are paraben free and I’d certainly consider buying this palette again.
  • I used an eye pencil from a recent Korres haul – #2 Brown. Korres eye pencils are made from cedar wood and have a 100% natural base with herbs and vitamins. The Korres eye pencils are creamy and just glide on. I have several: Olive Green, Black, Light Grey, Blue and Gold. The only negative is the staying power, which is not as good as the MAC eye pencils (with MAC Teddy being my favourite).
  • Mascara is Almay One Coat Triple Effect in Blackest Black. I’m very partial to Almay. This mascara has an odd brush and I don’t like it as much my HG mascara (Revlon Grow Luscious). The bristles on one side are longer than those on the other; this took me a little while to get the hang of. Initially, I felt the mascara was a bit heavy on the lashes but I don’t think this now – perhaps I’m used to it. True to its name, you only need one coat to get your lashes looking pretty plumped. No flaking or smudging throughout the day either.

FACE

  • Missha Signature Wrinkle Filler BB cream with SPF37.Why SPF 37 and not 30 or 20 or 100? No idea. Missha is a Korean brand and I use the shade #21. This is no cheap BB cream; at NZ $69.50 it’s an expensive product but I only need one or two small pumps, so it will last a long time. It does seem to even out skin tone and impart a radiant look. Does it fill in wrinkles? Ah, not really. But it’s by far the best BB cream I’ve used. I usually set the BB cream with the Missha M Sheer Mineral Powder Foundation, also in the shade #21. As a mineral powder foundation, on my skin (which is combination oily) it doesn’t have staying power. As a setting powder though: awesome. But this time I used Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in 001 Transparent. This powder is a cult product but I’m not sure I like it that much. I find it a bit chalky and it’s not transparent in the pan. It’s more ivory in colour and goes on my skin looking a little white. This does seem to fade and the powder also seems to keep oiliness at bay. Not sure it’s as good as my HG powder – Maybelline Dream Matte Powder Light.
  • Concealers – I used my favourite: Almay Line Smoothing Under-Eye Concealer with SPF 10 in Light along with Rimmel Match Perfection in Ivory (for fair to light skintones). The Rimmel concealer is for the under-eye area but seems to make my mascara run and I end up with panda eyes. So I use it on the face and it does a good job. The brush allows for easy application and its creamy consistency means it blends in fast and with good coverage. The Almay concealer blends extremely well and is quite hydrating.
  • Also under the eyes, I used Bare Minerals Well-Rested eye-brightener. As the name implies, it gives you that wide-awake look. I use it if I haven’t slept all that well or my eyes feel a bit puffy. It’s a yellow-toned powder and the trick to using it is – load up your brush and then tap off the majority of the powder before applying. The more powder you use; the more you run the risk of getting that cakey look. Well-Rested is a multi-tasker. I’ve used it as a base eyeshadow and also as a concealer. Texture is velvety because the powder is very finely-milled.
  • Brows were filled in using The Makeup Store (Swedish brand) Microshadow in Smog. Great multi-tasking shadow, which I have used as a base eyeshadow, socket colour and to fill in the brows. Shame about the packaging though. It’s quite flimsy and after only a few months, one of the plastic bits on the lid snapped off. Now I can’t travel with this product because the lid won’t stay on anymore.

BRONZER & BLUSH

  • Blush is the antique – Estee Lauder Signature Just Blush! Eye and Cheek Powder in Peachblush 03. I can’t find it on the Estee Lauder website and looking at the gold packaging of the listed blushes – I suspect the one I have is ancient and I probably shouldn’t be using it. I like the colour though. It’s a bright peachy orange but has a softness to it when applied.

LIPS

  • Forgot to include it in the photo but it’s my current favourite: Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in 001 Honey. These are supposed to be like the Clinique Chubby Sticks – never used them, so I don’t know. The Honey balm stain has a minty fresh taste and incredible staying power. It’s a mauve-rose that I imagine would be flattering on any skin tone. My only complaint is that after a couple of hours or so, my lips are feeling a bit dry.
IMG_8769

Zsa Zsa is just behind me.

IMG_8771 IMG_8773 IMG_8775

