Okay, okay – I did say I wouldn’t be buying any makeup in 2013. But. There was a Laura Mercier Laura Color Favorites Customisable Artists Palette that I was NOT going to miss out on. Plus, I visited Priceline whilst in Sydney last week. For my American readers I’d say Priceline is like Ulta. I admit Priceline was dangerous territory to enter into but I didn’t go too wild. I also visited a couple of discount chemists in Lane Cove where I was staying.

I heard that Laura Mercier had issued a Limited Edition palette for the bargain price of AU$95.00. This might have been for Mother’s Day, not sure. And for 95 bucks you get a lot:

  • two x 6-well Customizable Artist Palettes—one filled with Laura’s chosen shades and the other is empty so you can fill up with your own favourite colours;
  • in the filled palette are eight small eyeshadows; two eye liners, a cheek colour and a bronzer;
  • also included are three full-sized products – creme smooth lip color; Faux lash mascara; and a lip glace.

Great value for 95 bucks and I’ll do a review and FOTD soon using this sleek colour palette. But what else did I succumb to?

IMG_9579Top row L-R.

  • Organix Anti-Breakage Coconut Milk Serum. I’ve seen Organix in chemists in Christchurch but for around NZ$20.00 for a shampoo, I’ve never been tempted. This serum was AU$14.99 and I was keen to see if it would smooth out the ends of my hair. The serum has a coconut smell but, sadly, it doesn’t linger in the hair. It’s a blend of organic coconut oil and silk and keratin proteins. You just need a tiny amount; a little goes a loooooooong way. The size of a small pea, rubbed between the hands and slicked onto the ends of the hair is enough. Doesn’t weigh the hair down and it’s sulfate and paraben free. As a bonus, the bottle is manufactured from materials containing recycled post-consumer resin. I’d certainly buy this again as I’ve noticed my hair is more manageable and silkier. It cost AU$17.99.
  • Rosehip Plus. This is an Australian brand and their products contain 100% pure Australian Certified Organic Cold Pressed (Rosa Canina) Rosehip Oil. I bought the 15ml roll-on for the eye area and I use it to give a hydrating boost to whatever eye cream I’m using. I haven’t seen this brand in NZ; so when this is finished up, I’ll see if I can dismantle and fill it up with some NZ rosehip oil. It cost AU$14.95.
  • Palmer’s Dark Chocolate & Cherry and Dark Chocolate & Peppermint lip balms. Bargain price of $7.99 for the two. I’ve only tried the peppermint one so far – I’ll use this up before moving to the cherry flavour. I hate dry or chapped lips so I go through a ton of lip balms. The dark choc and peppermint is a lovely subtle smell and the balm itself is moisturising (although not as moisturising as other balms I’ve used). I prefer a tube dispenser as it’s more hygienic. I only slick this on the chops at night, so not sure if you’d need to reapply regularly if used during the day. Overall, pretty good and I’d certainly consider repurchasing.
  • Rimmel London 60 Seconds Nail Polish. I actually don’t bother with nail polish except on the toes. But I’m really loving the pastel and metallic colours around at the moment. I thought a soft lilac shade might look good and spotted the Rimmel nail polish in 620 How Do You Lilac It?. Haven’t tried it yet but I know I’ll have to cut my nails right back to very short. Seems the pastel and metallic shades work best with short nails. It cost AU$5.95.
  • Innoxa Antioxidant Lip Glaze. These aren’t available in New Zealand yet and I wanted to get the Tangerine shade. These are AU$14.95 each and I bought the Tangerine colour plus Guava. They’re named after fruits but have a very strong (to me anyway) caramel honey smell, particularly the Guava. Guava is a pretty pale pink that looks really good layered over a darker pink (such as MAC Freckletone). The Tangerine shade is a beauty – a gorgeous sheer orange coral. These lip glazes have super shine, aren’t sticky and last quite awhile before needing a retouch. The antioxidants help to repair and nourish the lips but since I use so much lip balm, I’m not noticing any difference. Once they’re available in NZ, I’ll certainly be repurchasing the Tangerine.
  • Nivea lip butters. More lip products! LOVE the cute little retro tins and at AU$5.69 each, they are good value. I bought the Caramel Cream and Vanilla & Macadamia lip butters. These are really luxurious and buttery. They’re enriched with shea butter and almond oil. Although I prefer a tube, I think the tins are gorgeous. I’ve only used the Caramel Cream one and I use it mainly at night but also under lippie. Very hydrating and glides on smoothly. These babies will be a permanent addition to my lip balm range.
  • MOR Cassis Noir hand cream. MOR is another Aussie brand and this is the first product I’ve tried from their extensive range of body creams, scented candles, hand creams and fragrances. The Cassis Noir hand cream has lovely, velvety consistency and has an exotic peppery smell. It’s described as a warm and seductive scent that contains notes of cinnamon, Bulgarian rose, black currant and star jasmine. There’s a matching body lotion and fragrance, which I’ll try to find at Ballantynes in Christchurch. Can’t recall how much this hand cream was but it wasn’t expensive.

On the bottom row is the Laura Mercier palette and I’ll talk about this in a future post.

