I threatened it and here it is – a FOTD using the Laura Mercier Laura Color Favorites Customisable Artists Palette. I talked about this sleek palette in my last post, so go here for a catch-up. I’ve been using the palette for over a week now and it’s the first time I’ve used any Laura Mercier product other than one blush I bought years ago (a cheek colour in Crushed Hazelnut, which I think has been discontinued).

This is a Limited Edition palette for the bargain price of AU$95.00. You actually get two palettes: one filled with Laura’s chosen shades and the other is empty so you can fill up with your own favourite colours. In the filled palette are eight mini-eyeshadows and I must say these shadows are very useable. You can see the eight shadows in the photo below. The top quartet has Twilight Grey/Pale Pink/Topaz/African Violet; whilst the bottom quartet has Gilded Pines/Cinnamon/Gold Royale/Pink Pearl. There are two eyeliners: Tightline Cake Eye Liner in Chocolate Brown and Caviar Eye Liner in Chestnut.

But wait! There’s more. You also get a Second Skin Cheek Colour in Sweet Mandarin and Bronzing Pressed Powder in Matte Bronze. Then there’s even more: also included are three full-sized products – creme smooth lip color in Crème Coral; Faux Lash mascara in Black; and a Lip Glacé in Raspberry.

The eyeshadows are a joy to use: silky, velvety and no messy fall out. I’m obsessed with African Violet, which is a violet copper shimmer. Twilight Grey is a matte grey shadow with a purple undertone and this is great on the outer corner of the eye (as is Gilded Pines) or under the eye. Topaz is described as a lustre eye colour and is a mink taupe. It’s very versatile and a fabulous colour for the socket.

Frankly, there isn’t a colour I can’t use and I can swap around colours on a daily basis. The matte bronzer is one of the best I’ve tried and Sweet Mandarin, well this is my new cheek colour obsession. It’s a beautiful shimmery peach with gold flecks and reminds me of Nars’ Orgasm, except it’s better because of its pigmentation. Of the eyeliners, I use Chocolate Brown more than Chestnut. I think because I prefer a softer brown. They tend to smudge a bit but I do like the richness of colour.

So here’s what I used for the FOTD:

FACE

  • Kiko Milano (Italian brand) Soft Focus Compact, Wet & Dry Foundation in 02 Peach Pink. It’s a pressed powder formulation and you don’t get powder flying around as you apply. I like that you can build up to complete coverage and the powder is silky. I apply the powder with the E.L.F. Studio Kabuki Face Brush. This is one of my favourite brushes for applying powder foundation. It’s an anti-bacterial, synthetic haired Taklon brush that is super-soft.

EYES

  • I used two under eye concealers. Rimmel Match Perfection in Ivory (for fair to light skintones) and Covergirl & Olay Simply Ageless Concealer in Light 210. The Covergirl & Olay concealer is amazing. It’s super-creamy but becomes more of a liquid consistency when you apply to the under-eye area. If you apply too much, it does become cakey – so just a thin layer to lighten and brighten.
  • For base eyeshadow, I used Pale Pink with Pink Pearl from the Laura Mercier palette. In the socket, I used Topaz and on the outer eye, I used Gilded Pines. I lined the under eye with Twilight Grey. The upper eye I lined with the Chocolate Brown liner, keeping close to the base of the lashes.
  • I didn’t use the Laura Mercier mascara as I’m still using up the Revlon Grow Luscious Plumping mascara in Black. I like the fat brush and the formula is not that wet mascara crap you can sometimes get. The brush really separates the lashes and I do two coats. I love the shiny teal-coloured retro tube too and will always repurchase.

BRONZER, BLUSH & HIGHLIGHTER

  • From the Laura Mercier palette, I used the matte bronzer. No orangey, muddy colour – it’s a lovely sheer bronzer with a silky consistency.
  • Blush is Second Skin Cheek Colour in Sweet Mandarin.
  • MAC Extra Dimension Skinfinish Definitely Defined. I bought this Duty Free in Sydney on the way to Johannesburg in April. I think this is limited edition and just look at the beautiful detailing. The MAC sales person told me the darker shade can be used as a bronzer, whilst the lighter shade is a highlighter. Or you can swirl your brush over both shades for a lovely golden peach-pink blush. I used the lighter colour as a cheek bone highlighter for the FOTD.

BROWS

  • Brows were filled in using Elizabeth Arden’s Dual Perfection Brow Shaper & Eyeliner in Soft Blonde. An old favourite and it’s lasted a LONG time. I think this product is now sold in a gold case rather than the black one I have.

LIPS

  • Laura Mercier Creme smooth lip colour in Crème Coral topped with Lip Glacé in Raspberry. The Crème Coral lip colour is a lovely nude russet brown and, when used with the Lip Glacé, is super shiny.
IMG_9726

You can see Zsa Zsa’s paw behind me!

IMG_9727

