I usually buy myself a birthday gift. And, as you know Dear Reader, my birthday was on May 8 and I decided this year I would find something horsey or relating to dogs. I don’t usually wear necklaces but, I was browsing Etsy, and came across a fab necklace.

It’s an Italian wax seal charm necklace that is handmade in silver with an antique patina. The wax seal dates from the Napoleon III era (mid-1800s) and depicts a seated dog with the Italian caption Riconoscenza, which means gratitude, thankfulness and acknowledgement. In heraldry, the dog is an emblem of faithfulness and guardianship.

Since I like jewellery that tells a story, I knew immediately that this was for me (even though there was a similar wax seal charm with a horse). The seated dog reminds me of an English Pointer and the seal the charm necklace is made from is Italian and the word on the charm is Italian. Given my love affair with all things Italian, this was a major attraction. I also like the antique look of the seal charm.

I ordered it a couple of days before my birthday and it arrived about a ten days later in a cute little box, complete with the story behind the wax seal.

IMG_9702 IMG_9703

