In my Sydney haul post, I mentioned that I picked up a Rimmel nail polish – shade 620 How Do You Lilac It?. About 10-15 years ago, I used to always do my nails but then I think I fell into the working too hard, no time trap. And so for years, I’ve left my nails natural. I’ve never done the acrylic or gel nail thing because I reckon it can cause damage to your natural nail – not to mention the article that scared the bejesus out of me (how gel manicures may increase the risk of skin cancer).

But I’ve really been liking all the pastel nail polish shades around lately. I’m after a pale apple green shade. I did spot one in Sydney (I think it was by Sally Hansen) but forgot to buy it. Dang. And then I saw the Rimmel lilac shade and thought it would look pretty and somewhat different from the pale pinks I used to wear. I had to cut my nails right back because I think the pastel and popular metallic shades look better on short nails.

After doing my left hand, I felt like I was back in the 1980s with all those fluro colours like neon pinks, bright oranges and lime greens. El Hubs declared the colour horrid but…I actually quite like it although admit that when I glance at the nails, I find lilac nails a bit weird.

The Rimmel 60 Seconds Nail Polish goes on super-easily. It’s a little thicker than nail polishes I’ve used before and it dries FAST. I did two coats but suspect I could have left it at one.

I doubt I’ll be wearing nail polish too often but I am due to Chair a conference in Wellington in August. I’ll see if I can track down that apple green shade and give it a go.

IMG_9821

El Hubs designed my wedding ring.

