We have a large mosaic table outside on the patio and the intention, when we bought it, was to have our early morning coffee and breakfast whilst enjoying the surrounding trees and long-distance views. We tend to eat breakfast at the table during Summer and…..when Zeph isn’t perched on it sunbaking or contemplating life as a very-pampered dog.

Despite my many discussions with him about how dogs shouldn’t be sitting on tables that humans use – well, let’s just say Zeph has selective hearing. At the time, it seems that he is obedient and he runs off to see what the chickens are up to. But the moment my back is turned, he sneaks back and I eventually find him sunbaking or sitting quietly.

I think it has something to do with heights. Apparently, at the breeder’s kennels – where Zeph and Zsa Zsa have their own large dog houses – Zeph likes to sit on top of his just before all the dogs are turned in for the night. He’s a male with all his bits and pieces, so it might have something to do with his territory too.

The other day, I was doing some work on the table as it was a sunny day. I’d last seen Zeph visiting the goats. I popped inside to get a cup of tea and came back outside only to find Zeph happily ensconced on the table. Staring off into the distance as he has a habit of doing. I didn’t have the heart to tell him off, so I went back to working and he decided to have a snooze.

IMG_0474

