The other day I was on a nostalgia trip. Sorry, but it’s still happening because I found more photos. Oh, good I hear you say. Hahahaha! There’s a photo of me dressed up in some fancy, floral-patterned dress and wearing a headband. I have a clear recollection in my head that the dress was cream and yellow. But what on earth am I holding?  Quick glance: it looks like a camera. What’s the wording? Can’t quite make it out – does it say Gevapan 33 or Cevapan 33?

Oh, bingo. I Googled (don’t we all?) and it’s Gevapan 33. It was marketed in 1955 (no, that was not the year I was born) and was black and white film. Regular readers will know of my love for photography and my photo blog. Maybe I was already snapping away at an early age. The more logical explanation is that the film belonged to my father, who was a keen amateur photographer. Why I was holding it in this photo, I have no idea. Maybe I was playing with the empty film packet and wouldn’t let go of it.

Then we fast forward to my teenage years and you’ll see a photo of me walking with my mother. I think this was taken on our way to see an art exhibit for one of my favourite artists, Albrecht Dürer (well, that was before I discovered Monet and Degas). I remember very clearly being excited that Dürer’s works were being exhibited in Sydney. Whether this photo is really of my mother and me on our way to the art show – not sure. I just seem to recall it this way. If I’m right, then we would have been walking through The Domain on our way to the Art Gallery. It’s such a typical walk for me at that age, clutching a bag. It was probably one that I made. Back then, I used to crochet bags and totes.

And then there’s me in my early 20s. I SO remember that red and blue sweater; it was a favourite. And I had an obsession with blonde hair then. My natural hair colour was a strawberry blondish colour but, in my early 20s, I had it lightened. Then you’ll see a photo of me when I was a teacher and with the first class I ever taught. I taught at a school for physically and emotionally challenged children in rural New South Wales.

The photo of me with sunglasses on was taken on some country trip I did with a guy on his motor bike – when I was in my 30s and between marriages as they say. By this stage, I’d decided red hair is my thing.

Finally, I found a drawing I did when I was a teenager. Maybe at around 15 years old. Looks like some sort of Spanish dancer. I was learning art at this point in my life – I remember sketching, fretting over perspective and worrying about which brand of pencil was the best for my art work.

What a hoot! Let’s hope I don’t find more photos. 🙂

IMG_0513

Here’s me in my early 20s. Clearly, I haven’t changed one little bit LOL.

IMG_0516

Me when I was teaching. This was the very first class of students I ever taught.

IMG_0518

A drawing I did in my teens.

IMG_0522

Cute dress and I’m holding onto a packet of black and white Gevapan 33 film.

IMG_0531

Me in my teens, walking with my mother. The only time in my life that I’ve had long hair.

IMG_0546

Me in my 30s.

