Sorry people. Next few posts will be beauty-related. But today is all about Cavalinho. This is the Portuguese word for little horse or cute horse and I first came across Cavalinho handbags whilst visiting Portugal with El Hubs in 2003 or 2004.

I immediately fell in love with them because of the horse motif. And they’re also very practical handbags. I have a couple of Cavalinho totes and a wallet that my mother-in-law (who’s Portuguese) gave me. My latest Cavalinho bag is my favourite and it was bought in South Africa earlier this year – at a handbag and luggage shop in Nelspruit to be exact.

I was cruising by the shop window and immediately spotted the sleek, black leather embossed bag with the Cavalinho horse. I rushed in and bought it on the spot. Gorgeous leather with silver detailing. Little horses and horseshoes are embossed all over the bag and the zipper tags have a horse inside a horseshoe.

It’s kind of like a doctor’s bag but does have a shoulder strap. I’ve put that strap in my cupboard where I store handbags as I prefer to carry the bag. I get so many comments on this bag but what’s inside?

IMG_1255From L-R:

  • Manicure nail file. I was given this when I attended a Revlon makeup session.
  • Travel-size Melaleuca Renew Intensive Skin Therapy – great for dry hands. Absorbs fast and is non-greasy.
  • Current go-to lipsticks or balms – Innoxa Lip Glaze in Tangerine; Innoxa Lip Glaze in Plum (a great everyday colour); Rimmel Stay Matte Dual Action Concealer in Ivory (for years, I’ve always had some sort of Rimmel concealer in the handbag); MAC lipstick in Freckletone; Estee Lauder Signature lipstick in Apricot Sun (this has been a favourite for years); Yes To Carrots Color Balm in Peachy Keen; Maybelline Baby Lips in Rose Addict (LOVE Baby Lips); and Korres Lip Butter in Pomegranate. I’m really into lip balms at the moment.
  • Maybelline Dream Matte powder in Light and Bare Minerals Flawless Application brush. The Maybelline powder is HG for me.
  • A plastic folding brush and comb from the Emirates Business Class toiletry bag. I got this in 2011 when I first went to Rome to live and work for a few months. It’s actually a very handy brush/comb.
  • Some Nurofen headache tablets – just in case.
  • UK brand, Disaster Designs, Flutters & Fancies Makeup Bag. I’ve had this for about two years now and it’s beginning to show wear and tear – probably due to the weight of the many lippies and balms I’m carrying around LOL.
  • A pen that I bought at Christchurch airport before flying out to Rome in 2012. It’s NZ-themed.
  • On top of the makeup bag, you’ll see my 1980’s Italian sunglasses;
  • Dettol hand sanitizer for those moments you realize you’re about to eat with dirty hands;
  • Briarwood Frost coin purse in the colour viola – I bought this at Ballantynes in Christchurch in June and it’s turned out to be a fantastic little purse.
  • In front of the Briarwood purse, you’ll see a small black, white and pink purse with appliqué butterflies. I bought this at Coin Department Store in Rome in 2012. It’s by Vendula London but it’s not on their website, so I suspect it’s part of their 2012 collection. I use it to put my iPod nano earphones in. You can see my black iPod behind the Briarwood purse.
  • Dents leather wallet. I’m giving my Mandarina Duck wallet a rest and using a lovely navy with white piping wallet by Dents, a UK brand that was established in 1777. The navy and white piping combo SO reminds me of my mother – this is why I bought the wallet. She favoured white shoes with navy detailing and a photo I shared on this blog shows her wearing a white and navy striped jacket. I’m not into navy myself but, since buying this wallet, I’ve come to like it. This is a VERY practical wallet and I think it’s Italian leather and handmade in England. I actually think I prefer it to my beloved Mandarina Duck. So many credit card compartments and secret spaces in such a compact wallet.
IMG_1256

Zsa Zsa poses (sort of) with the Cavalinho handbag.

IMG_1257

Dents wallet in front of handbag.

IMG_1258

Cavalinho logo.

IMG_1266

Many credit card compartments.

IMG_1259

Great little zippered compartment to hold keys.

IMG_1260

Such great attention to detail – horse and horseshoe!

IMG_1267

I tend to use the middle zippered compartment of the wallet to hold everything, including paper money. Coins go in the Briarwood purse.

IMG_1269

Secret space between two zippered compartments. Not sure what to use it for though.

