Well, dear reader, here I am in the capital of Bhutan, Thimphu. I’ve been here just over a week and will stay for five weeks. More on that later I hope. I’ve been a little silent on the Daily Oxford because I’ve been busy getting established in the apartment provided for me and just getting to know Thimphu.

I did a lot of research before arriving – mainly on the food as I have a sensitive stomach at the best of times. Didn’t find a whole lot but, since being here, I’ve discovered a couple of great cafes. Hilarious: one of the cafes is called Karma’s Coffee. One of my horses, Karma, obviously decided to come with me and open up shop LOL.

The main street of the capital is called Norzim Lam and there are no traffic lights. None. There is a traffic island where a traffic officer tries to regulate the cars and…..the dogs. The hundreds of street dogs are what I find a bit difficult here.

Bhutan is a Buddhist nation and so no animals are harmed. This has resulted in hundreds of dogs in Thimphu that bark throughout the night. I haven’t really had a good night’s sleep since arriving. And the dogs sit in the middle of the road around the traffic island or, frankly, anywhere they like.

I have internet connection here in the apartment so I hope to get into regular posting. I decided not to bring my Nikon with me as I had too much to carry given that I’m here for awhile. So I’m afraid it’s the trusty old iPhone.

IMG_2109

Thimphu is the only capital city in the world that doesn’t have traffic lights. A traffic officer directs traffic from a central island.

