Remember I mentioned the other day that I nearly disappeared down a HUGE hole in Clock Tower Square in Thimphu, Bhutan? Well, by the skin of my teeth, I missed falling into a humongous, gaping hole along a footpath leading into Thimphu. The apartment I’m staying in is about a five minute walk to the top of Norzim Lam, which is the main street of the city. To get to the bottom of Norzim Lam would take, frankly, ages because you have to navigate all the holes, high steps and street dogs. It’s an obstacle course if you ask me.

Over the weekend, I went with El Hubs to the local craft markets and I was yakking away to him as we were walking. He suddenly stopped me and pointed out the yawning gap in the pavement. If he hadn’t been on the ball, we both would have disappeared down it.

It’s an interesting reflection – if this state of disorder or public liability issue existed in Australia or New Zealand, I reckon there would be an uproar. There would be heated discussion over the danger of kids hurting themselves; old people breaking legs; or basically anyone getting injured. Talk of public liability would be tossed around and the Local Council would be held to account. You just don’t see this sort of thing in Oz or NZ.

Bhutan is a developing nation with poverty a striking feature. Infrastructure is not good or non-existent. So gaping holes in the pavement or sidewalk is considered (from what I can see) the least of the country’s problems. Locals who I’ve seen walking around the streets just dodge the holes, no problems. It’s a part of daily life. At night, the situation is far worse due to a lack of street lights. We prefer to hitch a ride with a taxi than navigate the streets of Thimphu.

IMG_2335

The footpath leading into Norzim Lam, near the Authentic Bhutanese Craft Markets. Gaping hole what!!

IMG_2334

But for El Hubs, I would have fallen into this gaping hole!

