I haven’t forgotten – I promised to do a post on where to eat in Thimphu, Bhutan. I’m half way through, so it should appear soon. Meanwhile, I’m enjoying being reunited with my makeup collection. I took limited makeup to Bhutan – well, limited for me anyway – and have spent the last few weeks just enjoying using different stuff. So what better thing to do than bring you my FOTD, just to show you that cranky old goats like me don’t have to look cranky (or, hopefully, old hahaha!).

Here’s what I used:

EYES. Still loving the Makeup Geek 9-Eyeshadow Starter Kit. I bought this in November last year from the MUG website – fast and efficient shipping to New Zealand. I took the palette to Bhutan and it’s SO versatile. My fav shade is Creme Brulee as it’s such a great transition shade in the socket. But Cocoa Bear is right up there too as a fav shade. For the FOTD, I used Creme Brulee in the socket or crease; Mocha as an eyeliner for both top and bottom; a touch of Shimma Shimma for the inner corner of the eye to highlight; and a loose dusting of Glamorous on the eyelid. I HIGHLY recommend this starter kit as all the eyeshadows are creamy and very pigmented. They stay put all day long underneath an eyeshadow primer such as MAC Paint Pot in Painterly.

Mascara is my last tube of the Italian brand, Planters Balsamo Maxi-Volume in Black. I busted it open to take with me to Bhutan as a back-up mascara. I really love this mascara and will be sad when it’s finished up. It gives great volume and no messy panda eyes.

BROWS. Brows were filled in using Elizabeth Arden’s Dual Perfection Brow Shaper & Eyeliner in Soft Blonde. An old favourite and it’s lasted a LONG time. I think this product is now sold in a gold case rather than the black one I have.

PRIMER. Too Faced Primed & Poreless Skin Smoothing Face Primer. I’ve said before that this is like Spakfilla for the nasty pores but, after I’ve finished this tube (which is my second), I’m going to try the L’Oreal Paris Base Magique Transforming Smoothing Primer, which I’ve read good reviews about and bought recently.

FACE. I used the Tarte Amazonian Clay Full Coverage Airbrush Foundation in Fair Honey. Yeah, not so sure I like this. My fav mineral foundation, Kiko Milano, is certainly better in my view. But I was intrigued to try the much-hyped Tarte Amazonian Clay range and bought this from Amazon. First thing is I don’t like the fact that you can’t see how much product is in the container (although I like the organic-looking packaging). Second thing is I don’t like how the mineral powder flies out of the mesh that is supposed to filter the powder so it doesn’t come out in a rush. I forgot to take a photo of the opened container but you can see it here. Third thing I find annoying is that the lid of the container isn’t really designed for that whole tap and swirl thing you need to do with mineral foundation powder.

The foundation itself can appear a bit patchy as the day wears on, so I’m not convinced of its staying power (at least on my combination oily skin). What I am impressed with though is the Tarte foundation brush I bought to apply the foundation. I didn’t get the Airbuki Bamboo brush that everyone raves about; I went instead for the The Buffer Airbrush Finish Bamboo Foundation brush because I wanted a very sturdy, soft-bristled brush to buff in the mineral powder. Did I mention soft? This baby has THE softest bristles and the brush is a total joy to use.

CONCEALERS. Three. As you turn into a cranky old goat, you need to conceal more flaws hahaha! I used a light layer of Thin Lizzy Concealer Creme in Miss Von Dita. I think every Kiwi gal uses a Thin Lizzy product. It’s a New Zealand brand and has a great product range. I think this is my fifth tube of the concealer and I lightly apply over my face before buffing in the mineral or liquid foundation. For the under eye area, I’ve been trialling the Eve Pearl Salmon concealer in Light because it looks like my fav under-eye concealer is discontinued. This concealer goes on bit too orangey for my liking but then it does blend in well. Not as creamy as my fav concealer (Covergirl and Olay Simple Ageless Concealer in Light) but it does the job and it’s best not to get a cakey look in the under-eye area anyway. So the lighter consistency isn’t necessarily a drawback.

To cover up any imperfections, I used my HG concealer – MAC Studio Finish Concealer in NC15. I can’t tell you how many of these little pots I’ve been through over the years.

BRONZER & BLUSH. For bronzer, I used the absolutely fabulous Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Sheer Colour face powder with Broad Spectrum SPF 15 in No. 40. I bought this Duty Free in Bangkok during our stopover on the way to Bhutan. I wasn’t intending to purchase a Les Beiges as I thought it was all hype but nope: what an amazing multi-tasking product. The sheer powder is intended to give you that healthy glow when you use a light dusting over the face. I tend to use it more as a bronzer and I even use the little brush it comes with. Normally, I chuck these annoying brushes out but this one delivers just the right amount of product and is ideally shaped for contouring and bronzing. This powder is a permanent addition to my makeup collection.

For blush, I used NARS’ Deep Throat and this is such a great everyday blush – a warm, pink peach with pale gold shimmer. LOVE.

HIGHLIGHTER. Just before winging my way to Bhutan last November, I dropped into Mecca Cosmetica in Ballantynes, Christchurch. Always a dangerous thing for me to do as I usually can’t resist buying some fabulous makeup item. Yes, well: I bought a few things including the Limited Edition Ambient Lighting palette by Hourglass Cosmetics. I certainly hope this gorgeous palette is incorporated into their permanent collection. I’ve used it non-stop since I bought it and there’s not really much of a dent in the powders.

This versatile palette features two regular Ambient Lighting powders – Dim Light and Radiant Light – plus the limited edition Incandescent Light (the one in the middle). The powders are said to give you that soft-focus, flawless look. I use Dim Light as an all-over powder; Radiant Light as an eyeshadow, sometimes combined with Dim Light; and Incandescent Light as a highlighter for top of the cheeks, nose and Cupid’s Bow. This palette is a Take To the Desert Island thing for me.

LIPS. Maybelline Color Sensational – #205 Nearly There. This is quite a frosty lippie and, normally, I’m not into frosty lipsticks but it has the right amount of frost for my NC15 skin tone. Said to be a dupe of MAC Viva Glam V, Nearly There is a nude pink-brown that is perfect for a natural day-time look. The smell isn’t great but it lasts for hours on the lips. Recently, I’ve found a lippie that I favour even more – Australian brand, Natio, lip colour in Flutter – but I still love this Maybelline lippie.

IMG_0257

Beware the kitchen knives hahaha!

IMG_1655

Makeup Geek 9-Eyeshadow Starter Kit. LOVE!

IMG_0335

The makeup arsenal!

