No, I’m not quitting this blog. But I have quit sugar and wheat. I’ve never noticed any adverse effects from my lifelong love affair with all things sugary. I have a sweet tooth; I admit it. I can blame my mother and grandmother for this. My mother used to hide chocolate in the top drawer of her dressing table in her bedroom. This was when she lived with us for the two years before she died in 2007 at the ripe old age of 90 years. In fact, she was one week short of 91.

My father wasn’t into sugary things at all. He far preferred cheeses, which I also love. My grandmother (my mother’s mum) had a super-sweet tooth. So cake, biscuits, desserts and chocolate were all part of the eating regimen as I was growing up. I’ve been reading though how food way back when was less sugary and meals were more simple. When I think back to my own childhood, that’s true. Food was plain: meat and three veg; or a plain vanilla custard with stewed pears for dessert; or baked apples with a dash of cinnamon and real full-fat cream.

Then along came the low-fat diets and (in my view) the false belief that saturated fats will make you fat (you should steer clear of trans-fats though). I’m no doctor or nutritionist but, if I look at my own family, my grandparents and my mum put lashings of real butter on their bread; they roasted lamb in dripping (aka animal fat); they drowned desserts in full-fat cream; they scoffed cheeses; and didn’t shy away from full-fat milk either. They all lived well into their 80s and early 90s.

Recently, we’ve heard that saturated fats are (gasp) good for you and sugar is the culprit. Largely because there is so much hidden sugar in our food these days, especially in the heavily-processed foods we have come to rely on in our busy lives. Sugar is now called the sweet poison. So given this mounting evidence, I’ve given up sugar.

And I’ve given up wheat. Why? Because wheat isn’t what it used to be, say back in the 1950s. It’s now referred to as FrankenWheat – a scientifically-engineered shorter, stockier dwarf wheat that is far removed from the einkorn wheat our ancestors used to eat. There’s something in modern wheat called gliadin protein that is addictive.

How many times have you had toast for breakfast and, a few hours later, you’re hungry? Or you’ve eaten a pasta dish but want more. During my research, I came across two books by a US cardiologist, William Davis, and what he has to say about wheat makes perfect sense to me.

So now I prepare food according to three cookbooks – I Quit Sugar; My Petite Kitchen; and Wheat Belly. Frankly, I’m eating really well and not hungry at all. The My Petite Kitchen cookbook has become a personal favourite. I dislike spending hours in the kitchen preparing recipes that have a thousand ingredients. This cookbook offers up VERY tasty recipes using few ingredients and no nasty sugar.

Below are a few recipes I’ve whipped up this week. Beyond this, I’ve baked some granola biscuits, walnut loaf made from almond meal and some cauliflower mash. I occasionally miss rice and pasta and I do crave sugar every now and then. But so far; so good!

IMG_1863

Cream of broccoli soup with butternut pumpkin dish.

IMG_1859

Butternut pumpkin with olives and basil.

IMG_1817

Sesame crackers – no wheat.

IMG_1662

Paleo bread made from almond meal.

 

