Oh yeah people: I realise I haven’t inflicted a face of the day on you for quite some time! Let me make up for this by RAVING about a few cosmetic products I’ve discovered lately. The German brand, Art Deco, has finally made its way to New Zealand. It’s very affordable and has amazing colour selections for eyeshadows. The brand also comes out with fabulous collections twice a year and I snapped up some items from the Jungle Fever range. Couldn’t resist the cute packaging featuring a silver dragonfly flying through a jungle of palm fronds and exotic flowers.

Whilst in Hong Kong in March, I picked up the Rachel K CC Cream (the original one in the black tube but I also picked up the pink tube). This CC cream was developed by Singaporean, Rachel Kum, who was crowned Miss Universe Singapore 2009. I guess you could say a CC cream is the next generation of a BB cream. Personally, I find BB creams often leave a greasy feeling on my face. The CC cream in the black tube is probably best for pale faces like me (NC15) and it’s best to pat it in to avoid a cakey look. It offers a host of benefits: colour control, oil control, whitening, brightening, moisturising and UV protection with SPF 35. Really evens out my complexion and coverage is medium to full depending on how much cream you slap on.

Another discovery is a vintage makeup brand from the States called Besame. It recreates the lovely vintage makeup of the 1950s (and earlier) and has products like cream rouge and cake mascara (I vaguely remember my mother wetting a small brush and using cake mascara). Yeah sure: you can get cream blushes these days but I LOVE the vintage look and feel of Besame Cosmetics. The cream rouge comes in a small vintage-inspired red tin embossed with chrysanthemums. It has a 1930’s oriental look. The rouge I have is the Crimson Rouge but I believe an Apricot Rouge is also available. Once I finish my tin (which would be about two years from now as it will last for ages!), I’ll get the Apricot Rouge as I think this would suit my complexion better.

Okay so onto the FOTD: FACE.

  • I applied a thinnish layer of the Rachel K CC Cream by patting it in and allowing it to set.
  • Meanwhile, I applied the L’Oreal Nude Magique Blur Cream as a primer and to cover nasty pores. Quite like this primer actually because it’s non-greasy.
  • Foundation is the fabulous Double Wear by Estee Lauder in 1C1 Cool Bone. If you want a full coverage, matte foundation this is the one. A light touch is necessary though, so start with a thin layer and build up coverage, otherwise you risk it looking cakey. I find you don’t have to work as fast with Double Wear as you do with Revlon’s ColorStay. I was matched to Cool Bone by an Estee Lauder dolly bird and initially thought it was too orange. But it’s turned out just fine and stays put all day long.
  • I used two concealers: Maybelline’s Fit Me concealer in Fair. LOVE. I use this under the eyes and it’s a lovely light, creamy consistency. I also used the Eve Pearl Salmon concealer in Light.
  • To cover any imperfections, I used The Body Shop’s stick concealer. Haven’t heard a lot about this concealer but let me tell you it’s fab. My shade is 01 and it’s SO easy to use – creamy and great coverage. It’s HG status for me and I rarely use my former HG concealer, MAC Studio Finish in NC15. The stick concealer is easy to travel with but you do need The Body Shop’s special sharpener.
  • To set the under-eye concealer, I used E.L.F’s High Definition Under Eye Setting Powder. I don’t like the very obvious glitter in this powder but, if you use a large fluffy brush, you avoid the disco ball look. Bare Minerals Well-Rested is a better setting powder in my view. But the small E.L.F. container is very easy to travel with and a little powder goes a long way.
  • Bronzer is the Art Deco Bronzing Glow Blusher “Queen of the Jungle“. This is a tri-coloured blusher but turns out more of a bronzer on me. The colours are coral, soft fuchsia and rosewood and an embossed dragonfly motif makes this product a joy to use.
  • Then I used a teeny bit of the Besame Crimson Rouge. I do find it a little bright red for my complexion but, if I use a light hand, it’s fine.
  • Overall setting powder is Estee Lauder Invisible Powder Makeup in Translucent.

EYES.

  • You can buy empty Art Deco palettes that fit four eyeshadows and you can customise your colour selection. You can see that my palette is well-loved and a bit dusty looking. The shades I selected are: Matt Natural Touch; Glam Golden Bisque; Matt Stormy Grey; and Pearly Medium Pine Green. I used the first two shadows as a base; the Stormy Grey in the crease and outer eye area; then lightly lined my eyes with the Pine Green. Best to press Art Deco eyeshadows on to the eye as there can be a bit of fall out.
  • Eyeshadow primer is Art Deco Eyeshadow Base, which is remarkably like MAC Paint Pot in Painterly. Because it’s a tiny black pot, it’s far easier to travel with than a Paint Pot. It’s not as thick as Painterly but just as good in my view. Much cheaper too.
  • Mascara was sent to me by a Croatian beauty pal and is the Essence I Love Extreme Volume mascara in black. Initially, I freaked at the brush because it’s quite fat and large but heck, what a great mascara. Plumps up the lashes, no clumping and the brush makes it easy to apply. I’ve just been sent three more Essence mascaras from my friend yeehah! Essence has just arrived in NZ but is only available at some Farmers stores and only in the North Island. One of those stores is Farmers Levin and, since I was up there recently visiting my Uncle, I snapped up a blush and lipgloss.
  • Brow bone highlighter is my trusty Too Faced Absolutely Invisible Candlelight Powder. I’ve had it for three years, use it every day and only recently hit pan.

BROWS.

  • Brows were filled in using Elizabeth Arden’s Dual Perfection Brow Shaper & Eyeliner in Soft Blonde. An old favourite and it’s lasted a LONG time. This product is now sold in a gold case rather than the black one I have.

LIPSTICK

  • A discontinued Revlon Super Lustrous Creme lipstick called Ginger Rose (131). I loved this shade – why is it that cosmetic companies always discontinue products you love?
IMG_2033

Grown my hair a bit longer – not sure yet if I’ll keep it longer.

IMG_2036

Besame Crimson Rouge – love the retro container.

IMG_2037

Too funny – you can see Zsa Zsa’s paw.

IMG_2041

My well-used Art Deco eyeshadows.

IMG_2042

Crimson Rouge.

IMG_2043

So sad this has been discontinued by Revlon.

IMG_2038 IMG_2077

