Remember I told you recently that I’ve quit sugar? Well, I don’t actually have sugar in tea or coffee but there is so much hidden sugar in food these days – we are all eating far more than we should. Especially if, like me, you don’t mind the odd cake or biscuit.

I’ve been cooking from five cookbooks that feature recipes with no sugar. The sweet stuff is substituted with agave syrup, rice malt syrup, maple syrup or honey. But even these ingredients have too much sugar, so I usually ditch them. Some days it’s really easy to go without anything sweet; other days, not so easy.

This week will be a challenge as it’s El Hubs’ birthday. He has requested a birthday cake with no sugar and I’m planning doing some sort of coconut or carrot cake. Not majorly exciting but it’s the gesture that counts isn’t it!

I regularly whip up bread that uses almond meal as a substitute for flour. Wheat is the most common base for flour and modern wheat has a little something called gliadin protein that is addictive. Wheat is even called an opiate these days, so I’m trying to steer clear of it.

Not having toast for breakfast or a sandwich for lunch forces you to get creative. I make my own muesli that contains dessicated coconut, sunflower seeds, pepitas, cashews, almonds and chia seeds and I prepare almond or coconut milk from scratch. For lunch, I often whip up a batch of sunflower crackers or a loaf of bread to have with some cheese and salad. A favourite bread is chia and flaxseed.

So I’m progressing quite well with the no sugar, no wheat thing. I’m even eating dessert at nights – like apple crumble or vanilla custard. Plain stuff my mother and grandmother used to whip up and I’m enjoying the less rich food. I’ll get a photo of the cake I will bake for El Hubs but, in the meantime, here’s my fav chia and flaxseed loaf.

IMG_2380

