I haven’t done an empties post for a couple of months. It’s so very satisfying to finish up stuff. So let’s ferret through my trash shall we?

Cleansers and toners. I have found my HG of cleansers and made my way through a bottle of it without deviating. It’s The Body Shop’s Camomile Silky Cleansing Oil. OMG. Love at first sniff. I’ve read that some people don’t like the rather strong camomile scent but I love the lemony floralness of it. And what an effective cleanser. Slap it onto dry skin and work it in to dissolve makeup and impurities. Wash off and you have silky smooth skin. It’s a very effective cleanser and I don’t need to double cleanse. I’ve already bought another bottle but have to finish up a couple more cleansers before I get stuck into it.

The second cleanser I sort of gave up on. Didn’t really like it, meh. It’s New Zealand brand, Skin Food, Cleans All. Nothing really wrong with it. I just didn’t find it a joy to use and I didn’t see any impact on my skin.

The toner is a bottle of rosewater. I don’t use conventional toners; I always use rosewater and preferably rosewater with glycerin. I finished up a 200ml bottle of NZ brand, Home Essentials, rosewater. In the photo below, you’ll see the older style bottle. I really wanted to like this product but I found the ethanol (aka alcohol) way too overpowering. I didn’t see it contained alcohol when I bought the bottle (smack to head). I decided to stubbornly make my way through the rosewater and couldn’t get through it fast enough. Meh.

Dry shampoo. Yep. More Batiste. The leopard print can is the Wild oriental scent and the pink can is the Blush floral scent. I have gone back to No Drought dry shampoo by LUSH because it’s very easy to fluff some of the lemony-scented powder through my hair. No Drought also gives me more volume than Batiste but I still like the Batiste dry shampoos.

Body Butters. I only use The Body Shop body butters. I’ve used them for YEARS. My fav is probably the Shea body butter and I finished up a jumbo-sized one as well as a Coconut body butter. I’m not so keen on the coconut one actually. I don’t really fancy smelling like a tropical island as it interferes with whatever perfume I’m wearing. Next in line to finish up are the Olive, Cocoa Butter and limited edition Raspberry body butters. I love the thick creaminess of TBS body butters; you really can’t get any better.

Moisturisers. Two knocked off. The first one is The Body Shop Vitamin C Skin Boost and it smells of oranges. Lovely smooth texture and it contains Amazonian camu camu berry. I found my skin looked brighter after use, especially when I applied it over The Body Shop Nutriganics Drops of Youth serum. The Vitamin C skin boost works exceptionally well as a primer. Will certainly be repurchasing.

Shower gels and soaps. Another large 32oz bottle of Dr Bronner’s Magic Soaps was used up. This time the Almond liquid castile soap, which has a subtle almond scent. I adore Dr Bronner’s soap as it has so many uses: shampoo, body wash, hand soap, fash wash, dog shampoo and dishwashing liquid.

You’ll also see yet another Nivea Natural Oil – I bought two bottles in Stockholm in 2012 and only just got round to using one of them. A very delicate, pleasant scent but heck, you go through it quickly. Took me just one week to finish up the 200ml bottle.

Sad to finish up a fav shower gel – Greek brand, Korres,Vanilla Cinnamon shower gel. I’ve used this scent for years and years. I love the warm, spicy creamy lather.

I also knocked off two bar soaps – one by Himalaya Herbals, which I bought in Bhutan and the other by an Australian company, Thurlby Herb Farm. The Himalaya Herbal soap was Almond Rose and what a delight to use. Super creamy, delicately-scented and just the right size. Dang, I should have bought more to bring back with me! The Thurlby Herb Farm soap was the Orange Blossom Olive Oil soap. Whilst it was creamy and certainly reminded me of orange blossoms, I found the bar was just too big and flat.

Eye cream. Australian brand, Rosehip Plus, has an interesting concept: a roll-on skin boost serum. You can use it around the eyes, which is what I bought it for. But…..the roller ball stopped working after a few uses so it’s getting tossed. Meh.

Hair. I finished up the L’Oréal Paris Elvital Volume Collagen Root Lifting Spray. I bought this to replace my HG volumising spray, David Babaii for Wild Aid Bohemian Beach Spray, which has been discontinued. Initially, I didn’t like it but it grew on me. So much so that I’ve bought a second bottle. Does a good job of giving my fine hair some volume and is light-weight.

Eyes. I finished up a concealer, eye shadow primer, two mascaras and an eyeshadow. Yeehah! The concealer is Maybelline’s Fit Me in Fair. A lot of hype around this concealer. It’s good. It’s creamy. It does a good job of concealing under the eyes. But…is not as good as Rimmel’s Wake Me Up or Almay’s Line Smoothing Under-Eye concealer .

I knocked off another tube of Too Faced Shadow Insurance. I think this is my third tube and most likely the last. I doubt I’d buy it again. Not since I discovered Bare Minerals 5 in 1 BB cream eyeshadow in Barely Nude. This is just the BEST eyeshadow primer and doubles as a creamy eyeshadow. The Shadow Insurance is good but I find it too liquidy.

Two mascaras gone. Maybelline’s Lash Stiletto in Very Black. I think this now comes in a black and red tube. I went through a couple of tubes and then gave it a rest. Going back to this mascara, I don’t like it as much as I used to. I think because I’ve now discovered Essence mascaras, which are seriously good. The second mascara I picked up in Hong Kong earlier this year: Maybelline The Rocket mascara. What a great mascara – doesn’t clump or smear. Glides on.

And I knocked off an eyeshadow by Too Faced. It’s called Nude Scene. When I lived in Australia, I went through many pans of this eyeshadow. Just love its neutral, soft peachy tone. I’m not sure if this shade has been discontinued as I can’t find it on the Too Faced website.

Lips. Labello care gloss and shine. Every time we visit the relatives in South Africa, I pick up many of these little tubes because they really hydrate the lips. My HG lip care treatment is the Nivea Lip Butters, with my fav being Caramel Cream. I think I’m correct in saying that Nivea is known as Labello in South Africa or maybe it’s certain products. I’ll be picking up more Labello tubes when we visit Johannesburg in 2015.

Clarisonic. Yet another brush done and dusted. I think it was a deep pore cleansing brush. I use the Clarisonic about three times a week.

Toothpaste. Yet another of the NZ brand toothpaste, Red Seal, used up. This one is the Natural SLS free tube. Minty with a hint of licorice. Love.

IMG_3386

