Been up North people. North Island that is. I wasn’t visiting my Uncle this time; we just decided to see more of the North Island. People in the South Island often say that people aren’t as friendly up north or that the South is prettier than the north. Ah, frankly I find people in the North Island very friendly and the scenery can be gorgeous. Maybe not as dramatic as the ruggedness of Otago or the snowy-peaked Southern Alps but, in its own right, just as interesting. Particularly, when you see large ferns or palm trees.

I’m afraid I had a brush with sugar whilst away. Oops. I did succumb to a couple of desserts and some great Turkish Delight at an Israeli restaurant. This is what I like about the North too – more variety than the South Island. Just that little bit more cosmopolitan and less farming-oriented.

IMG_3470

