I don’t think I’ve done a Favourite Blushes post before. I’m far more into bronzer than blush; but I like a hint of colour. So for today’s post – a look at my go-to blushes.

Top row in photo below: L-R.

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush palette. OMG. What a great palette. You get three ambient lighting blushes: Incandescent Electra; Luminous Flush; and Mood Exposure. The latter is so good, I have it as an individual blush (bottom row, far right). The trio palette is very handy to travel with and it comes in a sturdy, sleek case. Incandescent Electra is a soft peach; Luminous Flush is a champagne rose; and Mood Exposure is a soft plum infused with gold streaks. I find Luminous Flush is too fuchsia on my NC15 skin, so I swirl the brush over Incandescent Electra and Luminous Flush to get the right combination. But Mood Exposure is fine for me on its own. Hourglass has excelled itself with this palette and the Ambient Lighting Powder trio as well.

On the far right of the top row is Spellbound by Makeup Geek (MUG), which is a brand started by a YouTube beauty guru. I have quite a few eyeshadows from MUG but only the one blush. First thing I’ll say is that MUG eyeshadows are better than MAC and Spellbound is a gorgeous soft pink daytime blush. It’s more like a soft salmon shade and, because it’s matte, you can basically wear it day in day out. Great pigmentation too.

Middle row: L-R.

NARS Madly. When I first saw Madly in the pan, I thought meh. Dull, dull boring brown. I think NARS describe it as a seashell pink. Sorry, not in my eyes. But….it transforms itself once applied to the cheeks and becomes the most natural-looking blush with a definite pink tone. I always wear Madly on its own; no need for bronzer. Madly has become a permanent addition to my makeup collection.

Clinique Cheek Pop in 01 Ginger Pop. Clinique is not a brand I’ve dabbled with much. In my 20s, I did use their Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion for awhile but that’s about it. When the Cheek Pops range was released, I thought it was such a clever idea. The floral design is adorable and the clear plastic packaging seems very sturdy. No messy fall out and you just need a wash of Ginger Pop because it’s very pigmented. I’d describe it as a coral pink I guess. I find I turn to Ginger Pop quite a lot. Directly below Ginger Pop, you’ll see 02 Peach Pop on the bottom row. I simply couldn’t decide between the two so thought heck, I’ll get both. Peach Pop is a warm, Summery peach that is great for lighter complexions. I’m tempted to get the other two in the range: Berry Pop and Plum Pop.

In the middle of the second row, is Frat Boy by The Balm. If I were to choose one blush to take to that proverbial desert island, it would be Frat Boy. It’s a matte peachy apricot colour and the blush is talc and paraben free. The powder is such a fine texture and just glides on with my favourite blush brush (which is by Aussie brand, Furless). You can get a bit enthusiastic with Frat Boy – too much fluffing of the blush brush results in an intense peach. But it’s such a buildable colour, you really can’t go wrong. And did I mention the packaging? Check it out here. Kind of 1940’s American college sweethearts.

Benefit Rockateur. A gorgeous rose gold blush that will bring out your inner rocker girl. Benefit blushes and its Hoola bronzer come in chunky boxes with amazing designs. Rockateur has a soft sheen finish and great staying power. I don’t reach for it as much as Frat Boy or Mood Exposure but I’d certainly consider repurchase once I finish it up. On the bottom row is Ginger Pop and Hourglass Mood Exposure. The Ambient Lighting Blushes are handmade and they are marbled with an Ambient Lighting powder. Mood Exposure is marbled with Mood Light. Love love love this blush. Very natural on the cheeks with a hint of illumination. The Hourglass packaging is impressive – a gunmetal sleek palette.

IMG_3537 IMG_3538

