In our front yard is a very large, looming flax bush. The other day, Zsa Zsa decided to get stuck in the very centre of it. I think she was chasing a small rabbit and, most likely, there’s a rabbit burrow smack in the middle of the flax.

Zeph and Zsa Zsa often sniff around the flax bush because they suspect secret rabbit business. I saw Zeph peering into the flax and barking, so that told me Zsa Zsa was in there somewhere. I got down on my hands and knees, parted the somewhat sharp fronds and tried to make my way into the flax. I could just see Zsa Zsa’s tail and I heard her digging. She was after something. I couldn’t get her out so decided to see if she would eventually extricate herself.

An hour or so later, she appeared and all was well. Until next morning. I let the dogs out and Zsa Zsa was acting very strangely, sitting on her rump and looking distressed. A quick investigation revealed…..swollen lady bits and a very red stomach.

I actually didn’t put two and two together at first. I was thinking bladder or urinary-tract infection because Zsa Zsa was having a hard time going to the toilet. I got some tepid water and a soft cloth and bathed her, whilst waiting for 8.00am when the vet opened. Best to get her there and nip whatever it was in the bud.

Fortunately, they had an appointment at 9.45am. Zeph came with us and slept in the car. Zsa Zsa was very scared as the vet is not her most favoured of places to visit. After a bit of prodding and poking, the vet pronounced that she had a skin allergy flare up but not sure what had caused it.

That’s when it twigged. We discussed the flax bush incident and the vet thought that this was the most likely cause of her reaction. She was given a very low dose anti-histamine and a few dog treats. She spent the rest of the day asleep on the couch and her swelling and discomfort improved dramatically.

It’s funny. Just like with humans who are sick and like to take to bed with comforts of some sort – Zsa Zsa insisted on sleeping with her favourite fluffy rabbit toy. The only toy she has not destroyed in her career as The Pointinator.

IMG_3853

Following her vet ordeal, Zsa Zsa recuperates alongside her favourite fluffy rabbit and pink blanket.

 

