Sorry faithful reader for being somewhat absent. Where does time go? I have been busy with two short consulting gigs in Christchurch and….making my own moisturiser 🙂

Following on from making Honey Bee bar soaps, lemongrass facial toners and facial oils, I decided to try my hand at a basic moisturiser. I did a ton of research and this led me to formulating a moisturiser with honey (locally-sourced clover honey); glycerine; sweet almond oil; and lavender essential oil.

I like a thickish cream, so I whipped the mixture to the consistency of whipped cream where the peaks form in the bowl. Interestingly, this aerated the mixture and I ended up with a facial mousse that smells divine.

I’ve been using it for the last two weeks and I’m sold. I’ve now formulated recipes for all sorts of moisturisers: dry skin; combination; mature skin. I’ve also formulated a simple eye cream; a rich hair conditioner; and lip balms. Currently working on a formula for an effective facial cleanser and a shampoo.

I’ve had to source packaging and test out the sort of bottles and tubs that work best. I am not testing on animals so El Hubs and me are the major guinea pigs but I’ve also sent tubs of the moisturiser to friends to try. I sent one today up to Hamilton.

Really enjoying the process of thinking about what carrier oils to use or what essential oils would work best for certain skin types.

IMG_4752

Whipped moisturiser. I like a crisp white cream.

11060867_10153279666527028_4763097341534502332_n

The two back tubs were for friends and the two front ones for me and El Hubs.

