It’s that time again – my list of favourite bronzers. I admit to loving bronzers. Many bronzers 🙂

The bronzers I loved in 2014, 2013 and 2012 are still getting lots of love but, for 2015, these are the ones I turn to regularly.

NARS Laguna. I’ve hit pan on my beloved Laguna but, have no fear, I’ve already bought a back-up. I describe Laguna as a pecan brown with a very slight shimmer. Because I have very pale skin (MAC NC15), I need to be judicious in my application and make sure I do just a light dusting. I use an E.L.F. stippling brush most days or the Crown brush IB120 Jumbo Kabuki fan. Laguna gives you a healthy glow and will always be a favourite.

Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Sheer Colour Powder in No. 40. I don’t use this as much as Laguna but, when I do use it, I wonder why I don’t use it more. The Les Beiges powders (seven of them in total) are finely milled with a very sheer finish. The cream and black packaging is very stylish. Technically, these powders are not bronzers but are designed to give you that healthy glow. No. 40 is much darker than my skintone but that’s fine as it gives just a hint of colour. I actually use the half-moon shaped brush in the compact.

Dr Taffi bronzer. I picked this up in Italy and it doesn’t seem to have a particular name – other than Terra Anti-Age. It’s a matte bronzer and is a lovely light gold shade. Very soft, finely milled powder and a great bronzer to just fluff on when you don’t want to worry about contouring or precise bronzer application. I seem to be using it quite a bit this year.

Maria Åkerberg bronzer in Sun Kissed. This is a Swedish brand and I picked up two Sun Kissed bronzers when I was in Stockholm on business. Thank goodness as I’ve finished up the first one. I’d say this is right behind Laguna as the Holy Grail of bronzers. Sun Kissed is a lovely soft pecan matte bronzer. You simply can’t stuff up application. Even if I’m heavy-handed, I don’t end up looking like an oompa loompa.

Ben Nye Dry Rouge in DR-14 Latte. Technically, a blush but oh so fantastic as a bronzer. Very pigmented with a red-based undertone. Blends extremely well and is very travel-friendly in its small little case. I’ll certainly buy again. If you live in Christchurch, you can buy it here.

The Body Shop’s Baked To Last bronzer in 02 Warm Glow. I use this a lot. Not as much as Laguna but I have made a good dent in it. Warm Glow is a gorgeous marbled combination of gold, coral pink and champagne flecks. I have to be a tad careful with application because there is quite a bit of frosty shimmer going on.  The Baked To Last bronzers are handmade and baked on hot terracotta discs in Italy. This one has travelled very well so far – I bought it in New Zealand and it’s been with me to Italy, Malaysia, Thailand, Australia and Indonesia.

Too Faced Milk Chocolate Soleil Light/Medium Matter bronzer. This is the lighter version of the popular Chocolate Soleil bronzer. I bought it in Rome and it’s still going strong. Infused with antioxidant-rich cocoa powder, it smells like a yummy bar of chocolate. It’s 100% cruelty free and is perfect for fair-faced ladies. The powder has a silky fine texture and a light dusting gives a subtle glow. For anyone scared of bronzers, this is a beauty and I’ll definitely be repurchasing.

Essence Sun Club Matt Bronzing Powder – Blondes/Lighter Skin 01. This was sent to me by a fellow beauty obsessive in Croatia. First thing to say? It’s massive; you get a lot of product. Second thing to say? It’s surprisingly good. I am a great fan of Essence, which you can lay your hands on in selected Farmers stores in the North Island. NOT the South Island. Go figure. I contacted Farmers about this and they told me they have no plans for Essence to be released in the South Island. Why not I ask? It’s a great quality budget brand. Anyway. This bronzer isn’t muddy and is quite pigmented. I don’t think I’d buy it again though. I’m not obsessed with it but have found it a good enough bronzer to make my 2015 list.

So which bronzers keep appearing in my Favourites lists? Well, Chanel (2014); Maria Akerberg (2014, 2013); NARS (2014); Too Faced (2013); and The Body Shop (2012). Clearly, I keep going back to these bronzers but it seems that NARS and Maria Akerberg are the standouts! IMG_5713 IMG_5715 IMG_5716

