Time to go through my trash. So many products used up!

Hair stuff. Two shampoos finished. The Body Shop’s Rainforest Radiance shampoo. This is the shampoo for coloured hair from the Rainforest Radiance range. I think this is my fourth bottle. LOVE. No silicones, no sulphates, no parabens and no colourants. It has a wonderful smell – to me it’s blueberries. Will always repurchase.

Hask Macadamia Oil Moisturising Shampoo. This is also free of sulphates and parabens. The smell of this shampoo is gorgeous and left my hair shiny. Would buy again.

Herbal Essences Honey I’m Strong Strengthening Conditioner. Took me awhile to get through this but I liked it. It comes in new packaging now and I’d certainly think about repurchasing. Quite a thick conditioner with a soft, honey smell.

Moroccan Oil Treatment Original. I’ve had this bottle for ages and I’m over the whole Moroccan Oil thing. If you read the ingredients, argan oil isn’t even a star ingredient. Won’t buy this again. I’m currently using the Rainforest Coconut Hair Oil from The Body Shop and I’m very pleased with it.

VO5 Plump It Up Dry Shampoo. I sometimes give Batiste a rest, particularly because it can be expensive in New Zealand, and a can doesn’t seem to last long. This dry shampoo has a subtle smell and it’s very effective. Will certainly repurchase.

Shower gels & body lotions. Knocked off another Rose Jam shower gel from LUSH. You can only buy this at Christmas time (or Christmas in July). It is my all-time favourite. It is a gorgeous concoction of vanilla, rose and lemon. Will always repurchase.

Ashley Laine Cocoa Butter. I bought this on whim from a supermarket in Christchurch. Didn’t expect much of it but turned out to be a lovely body butter. Not too thick and with a definite cocoa butter scent. Made in New Zealand. Really liked it and would repurchase.

Facial cleansers. Apicare Cleanse Me 4 in 1 Wash. This is a New Zealand brand and it’s a soap free cleanser with aloe vera, vegetable glycerin and active 16+ manuka honey. I used the travel-size and it can be used on hair, face, hands and body. It seems to have a tea tree smell. I liked it but wouldn’t go out of my way looking for it.

Premier Research Labs Facial Cleanser. It contains no SLS, parabens or other nasties. But it’s a horrid cleanser, sorry. It smells like fish on your face and leaves a greasy film. Won’t repurchase.

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water. At around NZ$12.00 for a 400ml bottle, this is a cost effective product. I found it soothing on the skin and it was very good at removing all makeup, including eye-makeup. Already onto my second bottle. LOVE.

Eye makeup remover. The Body Shop Camomile Gentle Eye Makeup Remover – great product. Very soothing and gentle for the eye area. Will repurchase.

Hand cream. Living Nature Nourishing Hand Cream. This is a New Zealand brand I’ve used on and off over the years. I’ve always had a good experience with the brand but, sadly, this hand cream was not great. I didn’t like the smell but the cream itself was luxurious, and the 50ml tube can be chucked in your handbag. The smell was too medicinal for my liking, so won’t repurchase.

Primers. Finally finished up the L’Oreal Nude Magique Blur Cream. Basically, Spakfilla for those nasty pores. I found this was an effective lightweight cream that did the job. The tube lasted about 7 months. I don’t think it’s as good as Too Faced Primed & Poreless though.

Cotton pads. The Body Shop organic cotton rounds. I like these a lot because they are extremely absorbent and fluff-free. They are made from organic cotton and I’ve been through countless packets.

Hand cleanser. Eco Store Rose & Cardamon Hand Wash. This is another NZ brand and I liked the scent but the hand wash itself was just too watery. It’s great that it contains no nasties but it’s just not as effective as my beloved Dr Bronner’s.

CC Cream. I finished up another tube of Rachel K’s CC Cream. Mine was in a pink tube and I don’t think this particular one is available anymore. From memory, the pink tube is the neutral tone (whereas the black and gold tube is known as the original CC cream). The original CC cream is a white cream and the pink tube is a flesh tone, which I far preferred. Really like the Rachel K CC creams and I will order more. For the moment, I’m using a CC cream from Essence.

Mascaras. L’Oreal Miss Manga Mega Volume mascara in black. Absolutely loved this mascara and it did make the lashes appear fuller. The brush was just the right size to coat top and bottom lashes. Once I make my way through all my mascaras, I’ll be repurchasing.

Revlon ColorStay Bold Lacquer mascara in Black. The Revlon mascara I’ve used before is the Lash Potion Volume & Length. I didn’t like the Bold Lacquer mascara as much. It clumped and transferred to the eyelid, so wouldn’t buy it again.

Eye of Horus Black Goddess mascara. I’ve heard a lot about this mascara and it didn’t disappoint. I liked the brush shape and the mascara itself was smooth, due to the organic moringa oil. It’s expensive though (around NZ$45.00) and it’s not as good as the Miss Manga mascara. Doubt I’d repurchase.

Eyeshadow primer. Too Faced Shadow Insurance. I think this is my fourth tube but, since Too Faced isn’t available in NZ, I’m using an Essence primer. Shadow Insurance is a good primer and stops your eyeshadow from creasing. Not as good as simply using Mac Paint Pot in Painterly though.

Soaps. I knocked off another Karma soap from LUSH. Nothing better. And also a soap called Fringe Gold Sun Friends Jasmine Lime Triple Milled. A vegetable based soap that was really lovely. Made in the USA. Only complaint is that the bar is a tad too big, so it’s difficult to hold.

Toothpaste. Another tube of Red Seal Natural Toothpaste. A great herbal flavour.

Beauty sponge. I’m throwing out the Natio Complexion Perfection Sponge. It’s a latex blending sponge like the Beauty Blender. I just didn’t like the shape of it and I prefer to use makeup brushes. I might try the Beauty Blender one day, but I’m in no rush.

IMG_7124

