Saffy is about to turn four years old. Wow, where has the time gone? Don’t we all say that sometime in our lives!

I’ve been schooling her for the last four years – we’ve spent time together under a huge blue tarpaulin, whilst I’ve rattled it; I’ve used a long whip to gently stroke her all over the body, pretending to be a branch flinging into her face or legs; I’ve walked her all over the property and around the district; we’ve confronted scary places like the dark shadows cast by the hay shed; we’ve walked into streams and ponds together; and I’ve flung a saddle on her many times, done up the girth and walked her around.

So I’m pleased to say she is one very bold, very confident young lady as a result. And now is the time to start her under saddle. A lot of people do that at two years old, but I’ve read that it’s best to leave it until later.

The young daughter of a friend of mine is now working with Saffy. The picture below is on her second ride. Yes, second. She was not in the slightest bit fazed by someone getting on her back, and is listening to the commands given to her.

They do say that at ride number three, things can go pear-shaped, but somehow I don’t think so. Saffy seems to love being a big horse now.

She’s the most affectionate mare, if a little bossy sometimes. I’ll be really pleased to see her trotting and cantering eventually. She has beautiful movement.

 

IMG_7508

 

