I’m loving a few things lately. Constantly wearing them or using them. So I thought I’d show you.

IMG_8583That hot tomali handbag is my recently purchased Rebecca Minkoff Hudson Moto Mini. I’ve been using it since I bought it back in early May. You can’t fit much in the bag so it’s really made me downsize the stuff I was lugging around. I have a very small wallet, my iPhone, one lipstick and keys. That’s it.

Starting from the left:

  • Heritage Store Egyptian Oil. This is a new discovery. I bought it off iHerb and it’s a blend of olive, peanut, sassafras, fir needle, and lanolin oils. You massage into tired muscles or sore joints. It does smell a little bit like Deep Heat but nowhere near as potent. I find it really effective. The product is based on a formula from Edgar Cayce.
  • Alba Botanica. Pretty sure this is an American brand and I discovered it this year, again on iHerb. I’m loving the distinctive yellow, green and brown packaging of the brand. I bought the Drink It Up Coconut Milk Hawaiian Leave-In Conditioning Mist. The mist smells like you’re spraying a tropical garden into your hair and the scent lingers for some time. Hair feels soft too.
  • But the real find from this brand is the Jasmine and Vitamin E Hawaiian Moisture Cream – wow. Beautiful, but subtle jasmine scent, not too heavy on the skin; absorbs quickly and is great under makeup. I think this might be a HG product for me.
  • The Body Shop Early Harvest Raspberry Body Butter. You know I love body butters from TBS. Normally, I buy the Shea Body Butter or the Cocoa Body Butter. Recently, I tried the Olive one and loved it, so thought why not try a totally different scent. I was a bit worried I’d smell like a fruit bowl but nope, the Raspberry Body Butter is very subtle. I liked it so much I bought the Frosted Cranberry variety at Christmas time. I have a couple of body butters to use up before I get to this one. And I am very keen to try out Alba Botanica’s Hawaiian Kukui Nut Body Cream.
  • Now Solutions Moroccan Red Clay Powder. Another iHerb find. Actually, I’m buying most of my stuff off iHerb these days. I saw this product on a YouTube beauty video and thought it would be great to use as a detoxifying masque. It feels slightly warm once on the skin and certainly tightens up the pores and skin. I use it once a week.
  • Hourglass Ambient Lighting Bronzer in Radiant Bronze Light. I have quite a few bronzers but I keep coming back to this one. It isn’t orangey and gives you a wonderful sun-kissed glow. In the pan, it looks like there’s a lot of shimmer going on but it doesn’t show up on the skin. The texture is silky and smooth and blending is a breeze.
  • Kat von D Shade and Light Eye Contour Palette. I’ve not tried anything from this brand before and this was a very good start. A great matte eyeshadow palette that is very easy to travel with. It’s arranged into three colour quads – neutral, cool, and warm. I mix it all up and I find the eye shadows very velvety with minimal fall out.
  • Jewellery. There are two pieces of jewellery in the photo. One is just above the Hourglass bronzer. I bought it up in the North Island and it’s a cuff filled with sparkly gold beads. A great piece of costume jewellery that I seem to wear a lot.
  • The second piece of jewellery is in the photo below and I bought it a few months ago in Wellington. It was instant love. I walked into a shop in Cuba Mall full of amazing rings and earrings. I was just looking and was in the shop for 5 minutes or so before setting my eyes on the ring.
  • I was so attracted to the light blue colour, which is unusual because green is my favourite colour. I would not have said that I was a fan of blue but, since getting this ring, I’ve noticed that a lot of my clothes are shades of blue. And a favourite handbag is navy.
  • I didn’t know what the stone was and ended up in a long conversation with the shop manager who told me it’s a Larimar. I’ve since found out that Larimar is a fairly recent find from the 1970s and is only found in the Dominican Republic. It’s also known as the Dolphin Stone, Blue Pectolite, Atlantis Stone and Stefilia’s Stone, and is a rare blue variety of the silicate mineral pectolite.
  • When you look at the stone, it’s like seeing the sun dancing on turquoise waters. It’s said to be a crystal of serenity and aids communication. The ring is handmade and I really like the thick shank, which has a hammered effect. I haven’t taken the ring off since I bought it a few months ago. IMG_8741

Save

