I don’t know what’s going on but this year we have grass – and I mean GRASS. Everywhere. Lush, long grass; short, Spring grass. With horses, particularly ponies, you have to worry about the Spring and Autumn (Fall) grass. It’s low in fibre, high in calories and protein, and is full of sugars. Horses can experience rapid weight gain and end up insulin resistant.

Normally, I put The Mares in the race, which is basically dirt and feed out hay twice a day. But this year, for whatever reason, the grass grew a lot in the race and, by the time we reached Spring, it was lush.

So I’ve sent Karma off to Fat Boot Camp. I really need to manage her weight and I have her grazing at a friend’s property. She’s eating dirt basically. Poor Karma: but she has lost weight.

I visited her yesterday. She seems happy and is certainly looking less voluptuous LOL. I think she’ll be there for 6-8 weeks. Saffy may be joining her soon.

I have three of my friend’s Shires grazing with me and one warmblood. They eat and eat but don’t seem to gain much weight. Karma would be VERY jealous.

img_9952

I think I’m looking slimmer – what do you think?

Save

